It's a giant game day!

Belfast Giants play the
TONIGHT at 1AM — Miss it / miss out!

Official website of the Stena Line Belfast Giants

Steve Saviano Voted MVP By Giants Fans At Awards Night

Stena Line Belfast Giants forward Steve Saviano claimed the Most Valuable Player Award at the annual Giants Awards Night on Monday at a packed out Crowne Plaza, Belfast. Over 550 fans, sponsors, staff and players filled the ballroom at the Awards Night as the Giants celebrated the Challenge Cup success and looked ahead to the upcoming Playoffs.

Sebastien Sylvestre scooped two awards – winning the Leading Scorer and Forward of the Year awards. Jackson Whistle also picked up two, claiming both of the Official Supporters Club Player of the Year awards voted by both the Adult and Junior members.

Blair Riley claimed the President’s Award, named after Jim Gillespie, the Honorary Life President, and his legacy of community service which is instilled throughout the Giants organisation. Gordon Cameron was recognised for his outstanding contribution to the Giants organisation, leading the Schools Programme and Game Night activities over many years.

Jeff Mason was recognised by the Official Supporters Club on becoming the all-time leader for defencemen scoring in franchise history with an assist on Brendan Connolly’s goal scored on 2nd December vs MK Lightning.

Ethan McClean deservedly claimed the AVFTB Player of the Month Award for March, sponsored by fonaCAB, and Spiro Goulakos was voted as the Fans’ Favourite of the Year.

Ryan Martinelli was voted the Defenceman of the Year, Brandon Benedict scooped the Unsung Hero Award, Jonathan Ferland was voted as the Players’ Player of the Year, with John Kurtz selected as the Coach’s Player of the Year by Adam Keefe.


Below is the full list of the winners from the 2017/18 Giants Awards Night – with all photographs from the night on our Facebook page.


Official Supporters Club Junior Members – Player of the Year – Jackson Whistle
– presented by Junior OSC members, Jasmin Kitchen and Emma Crawford

Defenceman of the Year – Ryan Martinelli
– presented by Jonathan Robb & Alex Robb, One Stop Mortgage Shop

Official Supporters Club Adult Members – Player of the Year – Jackson Whistle
– presented by OSC Committee members, Christine Kerr &  Nicola McNair

Official Supporters Club presentation to Jeff Mason
– presented by OSC Committee members, Kathy Caldwell and Andrea Owens

Forward of the Year – Sebastien Sylvestre
– presented by Daniel Daly, Daly’s Garage – Hyundai

A View From The Bridge Player of the Month, sponsored by fonaCAB – Ethan McClean
– presented by Darcy Murphy.

Leading Scorer – Sebastien Sylvestre
– presented by Rebecca Jackson, Kukri Sports

Fans Favourite – Spiro Goulakos
– presented by Jonathan Cook, Peninsula Care

President’s Award (named in honour of Jim Gillespie, Giants Honorary Life President) – Blair Riley
– presented by John Small and Adam Havlin – Subway.

Special Recognition Award – Gordon Cameron
– presented by Steve Thornton

Unsung Hero – Brandon Benedict
– presented by Eric Porter, Chairman – Odyssey Trust

Players’ Player of the Year – Jonathan Ferland
– presented by Stuart Robinson, Cool FM

Coach’s Player of the Year – John Kurtz
– presented by Head Coach Adam Keefe & Simon Kitchen, fonaCAB

Special Challenge Cup Medal Presentation
– presented by Head Coach Adam Keefe to John Small on behalf of Jim Gillespie.

Most Valuable Player – Steve Saviano
– presented by Neil Palmer & Anna Hazzard – Stena Line